IARC MONOGRAPHS ON THE EVALUATION OF CARCINOGENIC RISKS TO HUMANS

VOLUME 96 ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION

Lyon, 6–13 February 2007

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Working Group Members^{1,2}

- Naomi Allen, Cancer Epidemiology Unit, University of Oxford, Oxford GB-OX3 7LF, United Kingdom
- Lucy M Anderson, Cellular Pathogenesis Section, Laboratory of Comparative Carcinogenesis, National Cancer Institute, Frederick, MD 21702, USA
- Frederick A Beland, Division of Biochemical Toxicology, National Center for Toxicological Research, Jefferson, AK 72079, USA (Subgroup Chair, Cancer in Experimental Animals)
- Jacques Bénichou, Department de Biostatistics, University of Rouen, F-76800 Saint-Etienne du Rouvray, France (unable to attend)
- Valerie Beral, Cancer Epidemiology Unit, University of Oxford, Headington, Oxford GB-OX3 7LF, United Kingdom (Subgroup Chair, Cancer in Humans)
- Kim Bloomfield, Department for Health Promotion Research, University of Southern Denmark, DK-6700 Esbjerg, Denmark³
- Philip J Brooks, Section on Molecular Neurobiology, Laboratory of Neurogenetics, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, Rockville, MD 20852, USA
- Lin Cai, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Public Health, Fuijan Medical University, Fujian 350004, China
- Sung-il Cho, School of Public Health and Institute of Health and Environment, Seoul National University, Seoul 110-460, Republic of Korea
- 1 Working Group Members and Invited Specialists serve in their individual capacities as scientists and not as representatives of their government or any organization with which they are affiliated. Affiliations are provided for identification purposes only.
- Each participant was asked to disclose pertinent research, employment, and financial interests. Current financial interests and research and employment interests during the past 3 years or anticipated in the future are identified here. Minor pertinent interests are not listed and include stock valued at no more than US\$10 000 overall, grants that provide no more than 5% of the research budget of the expert's organization and that do not support the expert's research or position, and consulting or speaking on matters not before a court or government agency that does not exceed 2% of total professional time or compensation. All grants that support the expert's research or position and all consulting or speaking on behalf of an interested party on matters before a court or government agency are listed as significant pertinent interests.
- 3 Current affiliation: Centre for Alcohol and Drug Research, Copenhagen Division, Aarhus University, 2300 Copenhagen S, Denmark.

- David W Crabb⁴, Department of Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN 46202, USA
- Peter Eriksson, Department of Mental Health and Alcohol Research, National Public Health Institute, Helsinki SF-00251, Finland (Subgroup Chair, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data)
- Susan M Gapstur, Department of Preventive Medicine, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL 60611, USA
- Gerhard Gmel, Alcohol Treatment Center, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland
- Liudvika-Laima Griciute, Department of Cancer Prevention, Vilnius University Oncological Institute, Vilnius LT-08660, Lithuania
- Suminori Kono, Department of Preventive Medicine, Kyushu University Faculty of Medical Sciences, Fukuoka 812-8582, Japan
- Dirk W Lachenmeier, Chemical and Veterinary Investigation Laboratory of Karlsruhe, D-76187 Karlsruhe, Germany
- Carlo La Vecchia, Laboratory of General Epidemiology, Mario Negri Institute of Pharmacological Research, I-20156 Milan, Italy
- M Matilde Marques, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Technical University of Lisbon, P-1049-001 Lisbon, Portugal
- Anthony B Miller, Department of Public Health Sciences, University of Toronto, Niagara on the Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
- Jürgen Rehm, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Ontario M5S 2S1, Canada (Subgroup Chair, Exposure Data)
- Nina Rehn-Mendoza, Private Consultant, Singapore 567749, Singapore
- Ivan Rusyn, Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering, Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, USA
- Helmut Karl Seitz, Department of Medicine, Heidelberg University, D-69117 Heidelberg, Germany
- Elisabete Weiderpass, The Cancer Registry of Norway, Montebello, N-0310 Oslo, Norway
- Walter C Willett, Department of Nutrition, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA 02115, USA (Meeting Chair)
- Akira Yokoyama, Clinical Research Unit, National Hospital Organization, Kurihama Alcoholism Center, Kanagawa 239-0841, Japan
- Zuo-Feng Zhang, Department of Epidemiology, UCLA Center for Environmental Genomics, UCLA School of Public Health, Los Angeles, CA 90095, USA

Representative

Alicia Huici-Montagud, European Commission Directorate-General for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities, L-2557 Gasperich, Luxembourg

⁴ Dr Crabb reviews research grant proposals for the Alcoholic Beverage Medical Research Foundation (USA); the Foundation's financial support is received primarily from the brewing industries of the US and Canada

IARC Secretariat

Andrea Altieri

Robert Baan (Responsible Officer; Rapporteur, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data) Silvia Balbo

Julien Berthiller

Véronique Bouvard (*Rapporteur, Exposure Data; Co-Rapporteur, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data*)

Paul Brennan

Vincent James Cogliano (Head of Programme)

Fatiha El Ghissassi (Co-Rapporteur, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data)

Pietro Ferrari

Silvia Franceschi

Nicolas Gaudin

Yann Grosse (Rapporteur, Cancer in Experimental Animals)

Mia Hashibe

Farhad Islami

Yuan-Chin Amy Lee

Manuela Marron

Jane Mitchell (Editor)

Nikolai Napalkov

Béatrice Secretan (Co-Rapporteur, Exposure Data)

Kurt Straif (Rapporteur, Cancer in Humans)

Wei-Min Tong

Administrative assistance

Sandrine Egraz

Michel Javin

Brigitte Kajo

Martine Lézère

Helene Lorenzen-Augros

Post-meeting assistance

Lamia Benbrahim-Tallaa

Crystal Freeman

Neela Guha

Production team

Laurent Galichet

Anne-Sophie Hameau

Svlvia Moutinho

Dorothy Russell